I hate WordPress.

3

September 30, 2012 by alexandragreid

I’d like to thank WordPress for eating not one, but two attempts of this blog assignment. Thank you, WordPress. You can die in a car fire.

I’m going to get right to the point now, because I’m really tired of rewriting this assignment over and over again. 

As a music technologist I chose the National Association for Music Educators social media outlets to explore. They currently engage in a Twitter Feed, Facebook, and LinkedIn. I chose to view their Twitter Feed and Followers. I viewed the following five of their followers/other twitter users that were engaged in conversation with them. All of these users I decided to follow for reasons listed below. 

@USAAAMB:The U.S. Army All-American Marching Band is an honor ensemble for outstanding high school senior musicians and color guard members. This organization is actually a junior affiliate of NAfME, so it’s obviously a legitimate entity. As it gives young talented musicians an opportunity to perform in a different type of setting, and also expose them to military band traditions, it’s a win-win. 

@EricWhitacre: One of the leading contemporary choral composers of our (all) time. The man is a genius, fusing genres, timbres, and technologies to create out of this world sounds. It’s not a wonder he isn’t a follower of NAfME. 

@jalcnyc: Jazz at the Lincoln Center (NYC) lists events, ticket giveaways, master classes, and other type events for students and the general public. Music education and entertainment at its finest. 

@EssEllington: As an undergraduate researcher in the field of secondary jazz education in public schools, this twitter feed definitely caught my eye. It was refreshing to see that there is more of a push in some areas for this type of music education. Now if we could only integrate technology into the mix, we’d have super students…

@NAMM: The National Association of Music Merchants – these are the folks responsible for the international music products trade industry. In other words, without these folks, we wouldn’t have MOOG pedals. And that would be a very sad, sad world. 

What made each of these twitter feeds trustworthy is that they had credible websites attached to them, and in the case of Eric Whitacre, it was a verified Twitter account (celebrities/people of notoriety typically need verified accounts in order to claim legitimacy). 

Here are two sources of information to make these twitter feeds seem a little more credible: http://atmionline.org or The Assoication for Technology in Music Instruction. This is another organization that I am involved in, which happens to endorse all of the following twitter feeds above. This organization was created in 1975 and is dedicated to sharing information, questions, and solutions for anyone interested in using music technology in instruction. As well, the local “branch” of NAfME, the Delaware Music Educators’ Association shares the same goals of increasing both jazz education and technology integration in the classroom to better enrich the current curriculum. 

If this doesn’t post I’m just throwing in the towel. 🙂 

 

3 thoughts on “I hate WordPress.

  1. Janice Hill says:

    Using WordPress can be daunting and I can sense your frustration. I created 4 WordPress sites before I realized I could have let my blogs flow continuously. I guess, practice makes perfect and I know I need more practice.

  2. jannmarie says:

    WordPress ate one of my first posts-lesson learned, draft on local computer first. Don’t cha love it?! I did like how you evaluated your potential connections credibility. Great idea!!

  3. I agree with you when you stated about the credible website. I too believe that a trustworthy post is linked to a website. It’s interesting that you mention about the verified Twitter account. I wonder how the Twitter account gets verifed. I also wonder if anyone was ever trying to present to be the celebrity?

Leave a Reply

macrtblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

samjohnsontech

Sam, through the looking glass . . . life as a High School IT Tech

williamboyer

My Journey Through Social Media

Finding the Road

A contemplative account of one family's journey through medical complexity

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

