Moving Forward: Part Deux

Leave a comment

October 28, 2012 by alexandragreid

This week’s post was a bit of a struggle for me. Quite frankly, I like structure. As the (crazy) father from American Beauty repeated throughout the entire film, “Children need structure! And discipline!” Granted, while I’m not exactly a child, I do tend to revert back to my youth when playing with my lovely young niece. 🙂 But, I digress.

Last week I discussed the nature of technology and how it is constantly evolving and improving as time goes on. This week, I’d like to continue with that idea. On the 23rd, Apple Fanboys (and professionals, but mostly fanboys) held their breaths in suspense for 10AM PST to roll around for the SUPER IMPRESSIVE AND IMPORTANT APPLE PRESS CONFERENCE!!

A number of updates to some of the existing product lines were released, including the following:

  • 13″ MacBook Pro with Retina Display
  • New 21.5″ and 27″ iMac (that’s about .75″ thin – whoa dude)
  • iPad Mini! (with a smaller screen, downgraded processing chip, and no Retina display. Right…)

Admittedly, I’m a bit of an Apple Fangirl. I wouldn’t work for them otherwise! However, initially I was really dissappointed with the upgrades to the MacBook Pro and the iMac. Why, you ask?

APPLE HAS ONCE AGAIN TAKEN MY OPTICAL DRIVE AWAY FROM ME. >=/

When the 15″ MacBook Pro with Retina Display was released, I had this same issue: great computer, great display, but why have we eliminated the ethernet port, the FIreWire 800 port, my doggone optical drive? No me gusta! At first I really couldn’t get behind this computer. In my opinion (and I still feel partially feel this way), they should have named the computer a 15″ MacBook Air with Retina Display, as many of the design principles used in the creation of the machine were borrowed from the Air. However, I’m not a computer engineer, and I guess I don’t know everything.

When the next series of computers were launched in October, of course I had the same questions; then, I thought back to my blog post about the evolution of technology. Granted, I recently bought the last upgrade of the 13″ Pro before the release of the Retina, and to be honest, I haven’t used my optical drive yet…or my FireWire yet. To be completely honest, most software packages are available for digital download as opposed to using a CD or DVD for installation. Cloud technology is making the use of FireWire (and maybe even USB soon) obsolete.

In short, the optical drive is equivalent to to dial-up internet these days. While it’s exciting to have lived through all of these incredible updates and changes to computing hardware (anybody remember the Iomega Zip and Jazz Drive?), it’s ironic that I briefly turned into one of “those people”: a person unwilling to accept forward moving technology. But I’m happy to say that I’ve “gotten with the program,” and am embracing (mourning) the slow yet timely death of some of the common hardware peripherals of the past.

Leave a Reply

macrtblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

samjohnsontech

Sam, through the looking glass . . . life as a High School IT Tech

williamboyer

My Journey Through Social Media

Finding the Road

A contemplative account of one family's journey through medical complexity

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

